National History

Click image above to view full size.

Chicago Chapter History

  • SMPS is founded in 1973 with 14 members
  • 1974 SMPS holds their first conference inWashington, conjunction with the AIA Annual Convention
  • SMPS is incorporated in St. Louis, MO
  • 1975 SMPSnews hits mailboxes for its first issue
  • 1977 SMPS breaks the tradition of AIA co-sponsored convention and hosts its own to coincide with the advanced marketing seminar in Indianapolis
  • 1979 the National office established in St. Louis is moved to Washington, D.C.
  • 1980 SMPS reaches a milestone of 1000 members
  • 1982 the Chicago chapter received its charter
  • 1985-1986 Chicago reaches 100 members
  • 1999 Current CPSM examination is was rolled out in Portland,OR
  • 2008 Chicago wins the SFE for “Outstanding X-Large Chapter”
  • 2008 Chicago establishes Executive Advisory Panel of past chapter leaders
  • 2012 Chicago publishes three-year strategic plan
  • 2013 Chicago surpasses 200 members, re-enters X-Large chapter category
  • 2013 Chicago wins SFE for “First Place, X-Large Chapter” and “Grand Prize Winner”

Our Chapter history is a direct reflection of our remarkable leaders. Below is the list of Chicago Presidents and the company with which they were employed who recognized and supported our organization during that time period.

President Company
1982-1984 Dale C. Jones H.W. Lochner
1984-1985 Ken Kaiser Schmidt Garden Erickson
1985-1988 Darrell Beal Cini-Little Associates
1988 -1989 Ronald E. Timm RE Timm & Associates Inc.
1989-1991 George E. Toth Rolf Jensen & Associates
1991-1992 Chris Momich Solomon Cordwell Buenz & Associates
1992-1993 Shawn C. Doyle Engineering & Testing Services
1993-1995 Drake Winters Alfred Benesch
1995-1997 Joe Cushing Cushing
1997-1999 Jeffrey Anderle The Environments Group
1999-2000 Laurel Ward RTKL
2000-2002 Deborah Hodges, MA RTKL & OWP/P
2002-2003 James Bychowski, P.E. Schirmer Engineering
2003-2004 Robin Reid-Murphy Murphy Limited Partnership
2004-2005 Tracy Mathieu, CPSM M. A. Mortenson Company
2005-2006 Joseph Hirsch Nagle Hartay Architecture
2006-2007 Barry Koren, AIA, PhD Koren Network
2007-2008 Leann Dockins, CPSM Harley Ellis Devereaux
2008-2009 Nolah Nasser-Gertner BLDD
2009-2010 Pamela O’Deen-Pishler Terracon Consultants, Inc.
2010-2011 Gavin Parr Construction Cost Systems Inc.
2011-2012 Matthew Rebro, CPSM Pepper Construction Company
2012-2013 Kate Mullaney, CPSM Cotter Consulting, Inc.
2013-2014 Megen Briars OKW Architects, Inc.
2014-2015 Megan Muter, CPSM ARCADIS US
2015-2016 Nikki Dvorak DLR Group
2016-2017 Thomas Petermann, PE Eriksson Engineering Associates, Ltd.
2017-2018 Roshanna Tokh Jacobs Engineering
2018-2019 Dawn Jones InSite Real Estate
2019-2020 Thomas Fennell IV FitzGerald Associates